Craig and Klawock Residents Selected to be on the AK Roadless Rule Citizen Advisory Committee - P.O.W. Report

Saturday, September 29, 2018

Craig and Klawock Residents Selected to be on the AK Roadless Rule Citizen Advisory Committee

Governor Walker announces appointments to the Alaska Roadless Rule Citizen Advisory Committee to advise in the management of roadless areas on the Tongass National Forest System lands.

SEPTEMBER 5, 2018 ANCHORAGE – Governor Bill Walker today announced the members of the Alaska Roadless Rule Citizen Advisory Committee, created by Administrative Order 299. Voting members of the Committee include State Forester Chris Maisch and 12 appointments to Public Seats. The Alaska Roadless Rule Citizen Advisory Committee is an opportunity for Southeast Alaskans to advise the State of Alaska on the future management of inventoried roadless areas in the Tongass National Forest.

“It is critical for Alaskans to be part of this important decision-making process that, in the end, will impact many lives,” Governor Walker said. “These twelve diverse Alaskans are passionate about one of our state’s greatest resources: our land. I thank them for their service, and look forward to their good work.”

The Alaska Roadless Rule Citizen Advisory Committee will provide recommendations that the State of Alaska will consider in the development of information it provides to the Forest Service for incorporation into the EIS and public rulemaking process. The intent is to develop a state-specific roadless rule that establishes a land classification system designed to conserve roadless area characteristics in the Tongass National Forest, while accommodating timber harvesting and road construction/reconstruction activities that are determined by the State to be necessary for forest management. Other accommodations include opportunities for economic development, recreation and tourism, and the exercise of valid existing rights or other non-discretionary legal authorities.

Below appointments are public seats and begin today, September 28, 2018 and end December 31, 2020.

Robert Venables of Juneau represents regional community interests as the Executive Director of the Southeast Conference.

Andrew Thoms of Sitka represents conservation and sustainable development interests as the Executive Director of the Sitka Conservation Society.

Bert Burkhart of Klawock is the President of the Alaska Forest Association (AFA) and the previous owner of a helicopter logging operation. Bert represents commercial timber interests in the Tongass.

Trey Acteson of Ketchikan represents energy interests in his role as CEO of the Southeast Power Agency (SEPA).

Eric Nichols of Ketchikan is a partner with Alcan Forest Products and represents the timber industry.

Jaeleen Kookesh of Juneau represents the tribal corporation Sealaska, the largest of the thirteen Alaska Native Regional Corporations. She represents ANCSA and Alaska native interests, which include such broad concerns as timber, hunting, and fishing. However, while Jaeleen is a Native Alaskan, she does not represent overall tribal interests for the region.

Michael Kampnich of Craig represents on-the-ground conservation and forest management as a Prince of Wales (POW) Field Representative for The Nature Conservancy (TNC). He has lived in Alaska since 1980, and during that time has worked in a variety of sectors, including the timber industry through several years of work in logging camps, commercial fishing as Harbor Master for Craig for almost 20 years, and environment and conservation at TNC.

Mark Vinsel of Juneau represents commercial fishing interests as the Executive Administrator of the United Fishermen of Alaska, a trade association with 35-member organizations across the state that includes commercial fishing, hatcheries, and regional aquaculture businesses.

Andrew Hughes of Juneau recently retired after 43 years of working in the transportation sector in Southeast Alaska, Andy represents broad transportation interests in the state.

Jan Trigg of Juneau is a 21-year employee of Coeur Alaska Kensington Mine and a board member of the Alaska Miners Association and the Resource Development Council. Jan represents mining and resource development interests.

Ralph Wolfe of Yakutat represents the interests of the Yakutat Tlingit Tribe, and his strong network of Native Alaskan tribes across Southeast Alaska will allow him to contribute valuable additional community and tribal perspectives.

Brian Holst of Juneau is the Executive Director of the Juneau Economic Development Council, and represents tourism and other commercial interests on the Committee.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.